love it or hate it

There are two kinds of people when it comes to April Fools’ Day.
Those who love it…
Those who hate it.

Those who love it are great at coming up with pranks and even better at pulling them off. It’s an art, really. And it’s totally fun to see these pranksters in action as long as the joke is on someone else.   

Those who hate it are generally unsuspecting, gullible people who fall hook, line and sinker when they come face to face with a prankster. They are honest and trusting souls who want to believe that when it comes to honesty, everyone takes it seriously.

Maybe you’re thinking, “Sheesh, lighten up a little… It’s all in the name of fun.”
I agree completely.
But as someone who has been hurt by humor many times in the past I would ask pranksters everywhere to take a different approach to your jokes this year.  Unless you have an understanding or some special kind of relationship with the “victim” be careful to not single out any one person in your pranks. Perhaps try fun pranks like these I saw on Facebook this morning instead:

  
Believe it or not, I have come a long way in the realm of laughter and joking.  I am grateful to be able to laugh at myself and with my husband as we muddle our way through healing and strengthening our marriage.  Without that laughter, we would not have come as far as we have today.  I am grateful to be able to laugh with friends and not believe the world is out to make me look foolish when I fall for a joke. I am grateful to be able to laugh at harmless jokes and pranks that I see on Facebook or videos. I am grateful for growth and resilience in the area of laughter and joking.     

Again, I want to stress that I KNOW April Fools’ Day is all in fun…
At the same time, I believe there is an element of truth in every joke played or sarcastic word spoken.

Keep that in mind as you play your tricks today.
~~~~~
I’m curious, do you love April Fool’s Day or hate it? Why?
Share your story in the comments below.

 


Featured Image Photo Credit: Kidzworld.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

