love the unlovely

Starling.
It’s a calming word that has always reminded me of the dark night sky, replete with millions of brilliant glimmering pins of light from distant suns.

Then I met the bird.

A flock of Starlings has discovered the bird heaven that is my front yard.  Throughout the day there are many types of birds that visit including Anna’s Hummingbirds, Black-capped Chickadees, Brown Creepers, Bushtits, Chipping Sparrows, House Sparrows, Red-breasted Sapsuckers, Red-shafted Flickers, Song Sparrows and more. All of these little birds get along fairly well as they chatter and flit around the yard amongst the trees, grass and feeders.
Until the Starlings showed up.

Starlings are obnoxious, greedy, aggressive pigs! (I mean, birds…)
They swoop in and decimate a newly filled feeder of suet within about five minutes.  The rest of the birds take cover in nearby shrubbery and under the bench by the front door waiting for the storm to pass, while I become that maniacal bird lady running back and forth to the window, waving my arms and screaming at the unwanted visitors, hoping to scare them off forever.

The other day during our ‘big’ winter storm I even admitted, “I hate those awful Starlings!” Then an even more startling statement came out of my mouth. “I know God takes care of all the birds but I never expected he would use me to feed these awful Starlings!”

Favoritism. How very human of me.

It is difficult to relax and just accept Starlings as Starlings. They don’t know how to be anything else.
Yes, they are aggressive.
Yes, they are greedy.
Yes, they are bullies.
But they are also beautiful creatures.
Black as midnight with bright white speckles, like stars in the sky.
Feathers that shine iridescent blue-green when the light hits them just right. Hollow bones and flight feathers that allow them to soar through the air from one place to another. The list could go on and on.

Little by little, my heart is becoming more open toward the Starlings and their love for my homemade suet.

Little by little, God teaches me lessons about life from the world around me.

I am grateful.

 

One thought on “love the unlovely”

Leave a Reply

