winter blues

It’s a rainy day here in the Pacific Northwest. Workmen who started yesterday on my neighbors house are working frantically to get the new roof in place. As I watch, I wonder if this downpour was in the forecast.

Dark overcast skies and fairly constant rain are not uncommon for this area. In fact, many people who live around here understandably struggle with the winter blues. This doesn’t seem to be a big problem for me, and I think I know why.

On the sunny days, I do my best to appreciate the gift fully, completely, with a little detour to my schedule. Take yesterday.  The sun was out and it was even a little warmer than the past few days. On my way home from work I decided to go someplace beautiful to enjoy my uneaten lunch. There’s no shortage beautiful views in this city, and I often end up at one of them. Yesterday it was on the top of an extinct cinder cone near my home. At the top there’s a “fortress” that contains a nice little park and the walls are a perfect place to sit in the sun and take in the view.
  
  

In the past I’ve been notorious for forgetting the camera, but now my phone is my camera so I usually take pictures to remind me (during the dark and soggy days of winter) of the gift of a beautiful day.

If you struggle with the winter blues, try something like this! I’ve also found that, even when it’s cold or rainy or windy outside, it helps to just stay in the car with the heat on to enjoy the view. I usually jump out for a minute or two just to get some fresh air, but not always.

I would love to hear about how you fight the winter blues. Leave a comment below and share your ideas… It may very well be helpful to another reader.

Grateful ❤

Leave a Reply

