let Me dream for you

She thinks I’m crazy. I could tell by the tone of her voice over the phone that she simply doesn’t know what to do with me because I’m crazy.

And that’s okay. 

Before I ever put my phone number in and clicked the button asking for information I said to God, I don’t know why I’m doing this and I don’t know what I will say when they call, but I feel it down in the depths of my soul that I’m supposed to do this… So I will. 

I took action. 

Ever since I took that step, I’ve been hearing Him say, “My dreams for you are bigger than you can imagine. Follow your heart because I am your heart.”

There’s a song by Casting Crowns, Let Me Dream For You that talks about David who was a really good shepherd and wrote beautiful songs. It also talks about Mary, a godly young woman with dreams of having a husband and family. They both had hopes and dreams for their future that were infinitely smaller than the plans God had for them.

Am I any less valuable to God than Mary or David?

Are YOU any less valuable to God than Mary or David? 

The answer is a resounding NO!

The difference is WE want to be safe and in doing so, we limit the possibilities of the dreams He has for our lives.

When David listened to God, he had a giant laughing and throwing insults at him. Later he had a death warrant issued on his life by a king. When Mary listened to God, she had people talking behind her back and believing the worst about her. Later she watched her son being mocked, ridiculed whipped, beaten and finally, suffer an agonizing death. In the end, David became king and is known for being a man after God’s own heart. Mary’s son became THE KING who made the way of salvation for all humanity. 

I have no idea what God’s dream for my life looks like, although I’m fairly certain it involves people’s busy lives being redeemed somehow. (Everything in me wants to delete that last sentence because I’m afraid it will be misunderstood, but I think it’s true so I won’t.) 

What I do know is that I need to continue to dive in to those uncomfortable places even when I’m not sure what I’m doing or why I’m doing it. When I do this, Proverbs 3:5-6 takes on a whole new meaning for my life.

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your path straight.”

So grateful for how God is changing me. 

2 thoughts on “let Me dream for you”

  1. I just love you & am so very proud & in awe of your obedience to Him & how you are not only seeking Him, but also listening so intently for His direction for your life, my sweet friend. Keep it up. Miss you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

