doing hard things

Four cars in the parking lot. Five, counting mine. It is pouring outside the car and for the life of me, I don’t know why I’m here instead of curled up on the couch reading a book on a Saturday afternoon. 

Oh, yeah. I decided to walk this two mile trail every day. I made that fabulous decision on a beautiful sunny day. This is day twenty. TWENTY! The mere fact that I found the time to walk twenty days in a row astonishes me. 

The rain continues and since my glasses do not have windshield wipers, I don a baseball cap and my curls do their best to stick out in every possible direction from underneath. 

As I begin the upward slope of the trail, memory recalls the gift God gave me the day before. Today it is raining water droplets but yesterday… Yesterday it was raining pine needles! I recall they that they made me smile.

At that moment, walking through the pouring rain, I realized that I really am in this for the long haul. I will do this for a year. 
Sunshine. Rain. Wind. Heat. Snow. Madmen. Zombies. They aren’t going to stop me. Not even the naysayer’s. None of that can stop me from the gifts I will receive on this trail each day. Today it happened to be a squirrel willing to get up close and personal.

Four people on the trail with me. One for every car in the lot. We are the few willing to do the harder thing. Somehow, I think it will make a difference. It is practice for doing even harder things in life.

I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

