feasting on the love of the Father

Food and eating habits have been on my mind a lot this week. Walking every day motivates me to eat better. The fact that cooler weather has brought my jeans out of the closet motivates me to eat less. And I wonder… How did I get here? Why am I overeating?

God and I had a little talk about that. Jesus spent forty days and forty nights fasting. As near as I can tell, he must have been feasting on the the love of the Father because he came out strong and ready to face temptation. It’s a concept that I haven’t quite grasped but I think it makes sense.

In my humble opinion, I have gotten really good at gratitude. Guess what? I think gratefulness has a lot to do with seeing the love of the Father in my everyday, mundane existence. It is about being aware of the gifts he has been putting in front of me all my life.
The waning moon and bright planets lighting up the sky on my way to work.
The fiery orange clouds of a sunset.
The pine needles raining down on me as I walk through the forest.
The bright green bunch of pine cones atop a tall tree.
The melody of birds singing in the sunshine.
The breeze on a hot summer day.
All gifts.

Today while eating a pear, I was reminded how to savor. Eating slowly and just letting that bite remain in my mouth longer woke my tastebuds to utter delight.

Has a pear ever tasted so good?

I wonder what would happen if I learned to taste God’s love for me with every bite of food I put in my mouth. Perhaps I would eat less and I would learn to feast on the love of the Father in a whole new way.

“Taste and see that the LORD is good. Oh the joys of those who take refuge in him.” Psalm 34:8

Leave a Reply

