fight

Much to the dismay of my children, I’m not a Lord of the Rings fan. Since they are HUGE fans, two years ago when I came across a plastic version of “Sting” at Goodwill, I threw it in the cart.

At the time I didn’t actually know this sword had a name, that it was LOTR related or that Sting glows blue as a warning when Orcs or Goblins are nearby. I just knew that my kids liked to sword fight and would probably appreciate it.

For a reason that I do not recall, I held on to it for a week or so and the longer I had it, the more I wanted to keep it. It was a difficult season of my life and that sword kept reminding me that I must fight for myself. So, Sting got a new home hanging on my bedroom wall to remind me… Don’t give up! Fight for yourself!

If that plastic sword were the real thing, yesterday it would have been glowing blue. The goblins of self-doubt were making their way into my heart.

You can’t write. Why do you bother with this  so-called blog? You don’t know what you’re doing. You’ve failed. 

So I’ve taken up my sword to fight and I will remember,

I give thanks to you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works (INCLUDING ME!), and my soul knows it VERY well.  Psalm 139:14

Leave a Reply

