I am a free spirit!

I’ve had to apologize so many times to my husband lately. A few months ago I told him that I would take care of certain parts of the finances. Let’s just say I failed miserably. We usually sit down together at the beginning of the month and pay bills, but he was out of town this last week so it was all up to me. He got home yesterday and I had to sheepishly look at him and say, “I never paid any bills last week.”

KEEP IN MIND, please… I took care of all the bills and was completely responsible for at least the first 15 years of our marriage. I never missed payments or bounced checks or anything like that.
I did it well.
I was responsible.
But lately, I’ve been getting in touch with my true self.

I am a free spirit.

This morning I had to scramble around the kitchen and pantry to find some coffee for my husband (poor guy all he needs is just a little caffeine in the morning) because I never got to the grocery store while he was gone last week. (Who needs groceries when there’s rice, cheese and chocolate in the house???)
We bantered back and forth about how he FINALLY has to be the responsible one, and as I laughingly apologized, the truth hit me.
All this time…
I have been ignoring my true self.
Almost all of my life I have HAD to be responsible. Since that day in the third grade, when I got the key and started coming home to an empty house, I’ve had to be R.E.S.P.O.N.S.I.B.L.E.

So I need a little break.
Hey… I will at least still go to my job every day… So give me some slack here.

I’m grateful for a couple of things in this situation.
One, I’m grateful to finally start being true to myself.
It feels really, REALLY good.

And two, I’m extremely grateful to my husband. He seems to be okay with my irresponsibility. At least he’s accepting me in the process.
What more could I ask for???

Leave a Reply

